Your Business Sustainability Partner




Traditionally business sectors are classified as the primary sector (raw materials), the secondary sector (manufacturing) and the tertiary sector (sales and services)

However, with more and more industries each year, there is a need to classify them or group them so that they can dealt with specific requirements for each group.

There are many popular classification systems such as Thomson Reuters Business Classification, Standard Industrial Classification etc.

For example Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is a system for classifying industries by a four-digit code.


What are SIC Codes used for?

  • The Security and Exchange Commission (SEC) uses SIC codes when sorting company filings.

  • Professionals use SIC codes to segment markets

  • Companies that operate in a certain industry use a specific SIC code when filing with the SEC so that the type of business is properly identified.

  • Identifying government contracts by their SIC description.

  • To facilitate the collection, presentation, and analysis of data.

  • To promote uniformity and comparability in the presentation of statistical data collected by various agencies of the federal government, state agencies, and private organizations.


Links to :

and so on;

For the purpose of our Advisory / Consulting, Assessment and Training services we have classified the Industries in the following sectors. This classification is done on the basis of Management System Standards availability to specific Industries. Thus sector specific standards are used in our consulting

The list will be expanded from time to time

Service Sectors

Government of India has provided the following classification of product classification for  service sectors

Photo used under Creative Commons from Doug Scortegagna, ustung